The Center for European Studies is a research center serving as a support hub for faculty across many different departments and schools at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. This section lists faculty members affiliated with CES whose research and teaching relate to contemporary Europe. Members of our Advisory Board are marked with an asterisk.


AnthropologyPeter Redfield
Art and Art HistoryGlaire Anderson
BusinessDouglas A. Elvers*
EconomicsPatrick Conway
Steven Rosefielde
English and Comparative LiteratureChristopher Armitage
Marsha Collins
Pamela Cooper
Eric Downing
Clayton Koelb
Diane Leonard
Environmental StudiesRichard (Pete) Andrews
GeographyBanu Gökariksel
John Pickles*
Germanic Languages and LiteraturesEric Downing
Jonathan Hess
Clayton Koelb
Richard Langston
HistoryChristopher Browning
Chad Bryant*
Karen Hagemann
Konrad Jarausch
Lloyd Kramer
Klaus Larres*
Susan Pennybacker*
Donald Reid
LawMichael Corrado
Richard E. Myers*
PhilosophyGerald Postema
Political ScienceAnna Bassi
Frank Baumgartner
Susan Bickford
Liesbet Hooghe*
Evelyne Huber
Robert Jenkins
Gary Marks
Rahsaan Maxwell*
Timothy McKeown
Holger Moroff
Layna Mosley*
Thomas Oatley
Graeme Robertson
Donald Searing*
John Stephens*
James (Jim) Stimson
Milada Vachudova
Romance Languages and LiteraturesSamuel Amago*
Dino Cervigni
Dominique Fisher
Federico Luisetti*
Hassan Melehy
Monica Rector
Ellen Welch
Slavic, Eurasian, and East European StudiesRobert Jenkins
SociologyCharles Kurzman
François Nielsen*
Ronald Rindfuss