The Center for European Studies Faculty Advisory Board is chaired by Center Director John Stephens and is comprised of UNC-Chapel Hill faculty and administrators from across College of Arts & Sciences and the Professional Schools as well as the University Library System.

Director John Stephens
John D. Stephens is the Gerhard E. Lenski, Jr., Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Sociology and Director of the Center for European Studies. His main interests are comparative politics with a specialization in comparative social policy. Professor Stephens received his BA (1970) from Harvard University and his PhD (1976) from Yale University. He is the author of The Transition from Capitalism to Socialism (1979). He is also the co-author of Democratic Socialism in Jamaica (with Evelyne Huber, 1986); Capitalist Development and Democracy (with Evelyne Huber and Dietrich Rueschemeyer, 1992), recipient of the Outstanding Book Award 1991-92 from the Political Sociology Section of the American Sociological Association; and Development and Crisis of the Welfare State (with Evelyne Huber, 2001), awarded Best Book on Political Economy published in 2001 from the Political Economy Section of the American Political Science Association. Professor Stephens’ latest co-authored book with Evelyne Huber, Democracy and the Left: Social Policy and Inequality in Latin America (2012), is a study of social policy in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Iberia. The scholarly contribution recently won the Best Book Award from the Political Economy of the World System Section of the American Sociological Association and the Best Book Award from the Sociology of Development Section of the American Sociological Association. Professor Stephens teaches courses on European politics and the political economy of advanced industrial societies.

3211 FedEx Global Education Center, CB#3449, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-4634
Email | Website

Executive Director Erica Edwards
Erica Edwards serves as the Executive Director of the Center for European Studies, the European Union Center for Excellence, and the TransAtlantic Masters Program and is an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science. She received her PhD in Comparative Political Science in 2007 from UNC-Chapel Hill and her MA in European Studies from the College of Europe in Bruges, Belgium, where she was a Fulbright Scholar. Prior to joining the Center for European Studies in August 2009, she held academic positions at the Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS) in Vienna, Austria, and the Free University Amsterdam in the Netherlands. Her main research and teaching interests are in the fields of comparative politics, political parties and party systems, European integration, and public opinion.

3210 FedEx Global Education Center, CB#3449, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-6765
Email | Website

Chad Bryant
Associate Professor
Department of History
468 Hamilton Hall, CB# 3195, UNC-Chapel Hill

Libby Chenault
West European Librarian
UNC Library
Office 130 First Floor Davis Library, CB# 3922, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-1151
Email | Website

Liesbet Hooghe
W.R. Kenan Distinguished Professor
Department of Political Science
369 Hamilton Hall, CB# 3265, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 843-6164
Email | Website

Anne Johnston
James H. Shumaker Term Professor
UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication
361 Carroll Hall, CB# 3365, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-4286
Email | Website

Klaus Larres
Richard M. Krasno Distinguished Professor
Department of History
416 Hamilton Hall, CB#3195, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-8079
Email | Website

Federico Luisetti
Professor of Italian Studies
Department of Romance Languages
Dey Hall, CB# 3170, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-1563
Email | Website

Saule Omarova
George R. Ward Associate Professor
UNC School of Law
5091 Van Hecke-Wettach Hall, CB# 3380, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 843-4356
Email | Website

John Pickles
Earl N. Phillips Distinguished Professor
Department of Geography
206 Saunders, CB# 3220, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-3919
Email | Website

Donald Reid
Professor of History
Department of History
554 Hamilton Hall, CB# 3195, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-3944
Email | Website 

Donald Searing
Burton Craige Professor
Department of Political Science
319 Hamilton Hall, CB# 3265, UNC-Chapel Hill
Office Phone: (919) 962-0443
Email | Website